Blog · News

Who’s afraid of the big bad world?

Me, me, me!

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”  –Harriet Tubman

I wish my college diploma came with a warning: “Congratulations on graduating. Time to freak out and figure what the hell to do with your life.”

Actually, I already know what I want to do with my life. To be a successful music video director. Music is my life and I couldn’t be more happy being a music video director.

Yeah, yeah I still manage to be stressing a lot lately. Though, I have to point that out that I have keep reminding myself that during my what-am-I-suppose-to-do-with-my-life freak outs.

Yesterday I read a post from another blogger who brought up a great point.

I’m 22 years old. I have no obligations to anyone besides myself. Therefore I plan on taking full advantage that. I’m going to travel as much as I possible can. That’s awesome! First stop, South Korea.

I ❤ foooood!

But before I take a dive into a new career,  I thought maybe I could see if I still had any thoughts  on moving to New York City still swirling around in my head (like I had planned for the past year)… by watching Gossip Girl. I know, I know. That’s not a realistic image of what it would be like to live in NYC, but it’s better than the reality of what I would have to live before getting a really good, high-paying job.

Gossip Girl fictional life:

  • Live in a swanky apartment.
  • Have the best wardrobe ever!
  • Have lots of money without working.
  • Have friends who will always be there for you, but will also sleep with your ex-boyfriend.
Reality:
  • I would be working like three jobs so I can pay my rent.
  • Working as a PA (production assistant) on sets, not really working on music videos.
  • I don’t know that many people who live there, which is actually good. Meeting new people yay!
  • I don’t have a wardrobe that awesome.

Besides the fact that I would love to make out with Chace Crawford, Ed Westick, or Penn Badgley in a heartbeat, I don’t exactly want to jump on the moving-to-NYC bandwagon anymore.

But I’m still terrified about starting my career no matter what it is.  I need a guide or something.

And the worst possible thing about moving is that I don’t have the support I hoped for. It’s definitely a pretty unpleasant

experience for people I’m close with (friends or family) not all taking me serious and just assume that I’m having a
Then again…who cares? Who cares if I have to get “permission” from everyone? I don’t anymore. I just want a little moral support, but lately it feels like it’s just me, myself, and I. momentarily lack of judgement. That’s probably causing most of my stress lately.

Sure I don’t know if and how I can get where I plan to be this year, but why do people feel the need doubt my capabilities? Frankly, I’m sick of it.

I need a little inspiration.

I want to take a risk.

I want to be “allowed” to make a mistake for once without judgement or ridicule.

To all those morons who think I’m weak:

 Suck it and let me do what I want to do for once!

I no longer need your approval or want to hear what you think I should be doing.

I’ve already decided what I want to do, so jump on the bandwagon…or I’ll leave you behind.

 If you are stuck in a similar situation, I give you (and me) a bit of inspiration for today. Thanks Florence & the Machine.

2 thoughts on “Who’s afraid of the big bad world?

  1. Keisha … I know nothing about your industry – so what can I tell you? How about the Cliff Notes version of my story… When I was 28 I took my brand new MBA, two suitcases, a carry-on and a spirit of adventure and moved to Switzerland. I only knew one person in the entire country … and he was in the US. One step at a time I built a career as an international sales and marketing maven. I traveled the world and grew a big, profitable business. There were good times, even great times as well as some bad and ugly. 17 years later I returned to the US and not long after left the corporate world and reinvented myself as a freelance writer and chef.

    What can I offer you? Only words … Be fearless. Find confidence in your strengths and talents, know your passion and follow it. What’s the worst that can happen? You could fail, learn from it, pick yourself up and start again. Good luck and take care, Susan

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your story and giving me such encouraging words 🙂 I will try my best to be fearless and embrace the worst…all with a smile on my face. I like to go where my passion takes me, no matter what it is. I think it has to do with some sense of adventure that I had no idea I had, ha. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

