Blog

This is why I love science.

“In biology, nothing is clear, everything is too complicated, everything is a mess, and just when you think you understand something, you peel off a layer and find deeper complications beneath. Nature is anything but simple.”
― Richard PrestonThe Hot Zone: A Terrifying True Story

Back in the day, when I still wanted to be a marine biologist and even more obsessed with science than I am now, I had to read The Hot Zone: A Terrifying True Story for my high school Honors Biology I class.  It WAS terrifying. It was about Ebola. It was the most gut-wrenching, vomit-inducing, and intense nonfiction book I have ever read. And I loved it!  Of course, I couldn’t understand why the hell I had to read it.

Although I never quite finished reading the book, I still say it’s my favorite book of all time. I’m going to stay as far as humanly possible from anywhere with Ebola outbreaks.

Leave a Reply

