Coffee in Daegu: A Twosome Place

image

image

A one sentence summary: You had me at ‘Breakfast Special’…and So Ji Sub.

A semi- quick story: You have no idea how bummed I was when I found out that I wasn’t going to be able to enjoy a good cup of joe in Seoul with popular Korean actor, So Ji Sub.

I’m talking about “A Twosome Place”, a European style coffee shop/lounge that features the actor and co-owns one branch himself. Drinking coffee with a giant poster of him hanging above me is fangirly enough*.

image

As if his face isn’t plastered on a ton of products throughout Daegu… I really wanted some of his coffee though.

What I ordered: For my first visit, I chose to keep it simple and order some tea. It came in a ventilated, aluminum tea bag that hooked onto my cup.

The Verdict: I forget which one, but that’s because it wasn’t phenomenal *said the coffee and tea snob*. I’ll come back another time to try some dessert.

Seating: This place is huge. I’m sure you can find a table for yourself or you and your posse.

Service: Friendly and attentive. What?! The staff wasn’t on their phones when a customer wasn’t in front of them. Wow.

Oh yeah, this is a ‘go pick up your own damn coffee’ place. The coaster-thing they give you will vibrate when it’s ready.

Interior Design: Modern ‘European’. I don’t know what that means, but that’s what they swear by. Minimalistic with a saturated red and black color scheme.

Dessert: Ummm duh. There are plenty of desserts at this place. It’s a dessert cafe.

Free Wifi: Yes. The password is on your receipt. The connectivity wasn’t great when I went, which is even more lame because the cafe wasn’t busy.

Music: I vaguely remember hearing any, which is a good thing. No one wants to be distracted when So Ji Sub is in the room.

Price: Guuuurl, this place is pricey. Maybe a couple 100 won (about 10 cents) more than average for their beverages. And So Ji Sub isn’t there to cover you.

Location and Directions: It’s a major franchise so there are many throughout Korea. The one I went to is directly outside Beomeo (버머역) Station in Daegu on the Green Line at exit 8.

*says the girl who has only seen two of his dramas.

This blog post previously named actor So Ji Sub as the co-owner of A Twosome Place. However, it has since been corrected. Actor So Ji Sub co-owned the 25k branch of this cafe, but no longer does so nor is the model for the franchise. Lee Min Ho is the newest model as of late 2014.

2 thoughts on “Coffee in Daegu: A Twosome Place

  1. hey! nice write up!…so i heard it’s overpriced but hey who knows when one will bump into SJS aye? Anyhoo, have been hearing buzz about him ditching this cafe. is it still standing today?

    1. Hey! Thanks!

      I guess you could say that place is pricey, but for the size of the coffee, ehh. It’s reasonable. Not saying I frequent the place though.
      In Korea, typically I see regular sized coffee about half the size of the typical American size. And the coffee is a lot weaker…for $3-5.

      As for SJS ditching the place, I haven’t heard anything…yet. His face us still plastored all over the place.
      Thanks for comment! If you ever get the chance, check out A Twosome Place. It’s best coffee is definitely on my best list.

Leave a Reply

