Blog

The Pursuit of Happiness

Have you ever wondered if happiness exists? Or is it temporary bursts of pleasure that are meant to fill our lives rather than everlasting bliss?

For me, I guess it along the lines of the same mentality of dissatisfaction when I am having a bad day.

I convince myself that nothing can get better and that I should write this day off completely. I’ve already missed our chance of happiness by dwelling on the factors that make me unhappy.

I can’t avoid this many obstacles, can I?
Is this my destiny?

I know that if offered a look into a crystal ball to see my future, I should instantly refuse and quote a famous inspirational person.

See that star in the far, far right corner in the sky? That’s a metaphor for my life plan. Just sitting there, neither dimming nor getting smaller. I’m getting further and further away from it, and until I reach it, I can’t be completely happy.

Will I or won’t I be successful?

Will my hard work finally allow me to reap plentiful,  rich benefits?

Why haven’t I gotten this job?

Why is it that every goal I try to reach for is knocked out of my hand when I almost reach it?

Why am I whining?

Why am I doubting myself?

Why am I not fighting for my happiness?

The pursuit of my happiness is in my control. 100%.

Whether it’s the work of God or the result of eating too many Krispy Kreme donuts, the events that happen to me, the acid reflux I endure, are all on me. I choose how I am affected by my life choices.

So why do I have a hard time choosing to be happy?

“I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.” -Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

